Gotta Have It or Live Without It: Nyx Matte Lipstick

Hi, everyone! I’ve got a Gotta Have It or Live Without makeup review for ya tonight! It’s over the Nyx Matte Lipstick line (:

Image

When summer finally rolls around, that’s when bright, colorful makeup comes into play! I especially love experimenting with bold lip colors during the warmer months. But between the summer heat and humidity, drinking and eating, talking and laughing, swimming and sweating… it’s almost impossible to find a lip color that last through all of that. I had pretty much given up all hope on finding a lipstick that lasts and settled on just wearing basic lip balm all summer. Don’t get me wrong, lip balm is fantastic and I still do wear it everyday when I’m doing a lot less makeup. But for parties, nights out, and special events, I still need myself a great lip color that won’t fade, smear, or smudge! That’s where this Nyx Matte Lipstick line comes in (:

I had just recently used this lipstick line for the first time only about two weeks ago. I wore this gorgeous deep red color to my cousin’s wedding. I applied it before I left and tucked it away in my clutch ready to constantly reapply like I’d done with every other lipstick in the history of ever. But through pictures, eating dinner, chowing down on dessert, drinking, talking, and laughing, it never faded. That’s absolutely incredible, so let me say that again in case you didn’t quite catch that… THIS LIPSTICK NEVER FADED. Like, never. It never faded. Through out the whoooole night, it still looked as perfect as when I first put it on! Can we all just take a second and fan-girl together? I only reapplied ONCE the whole entire day. ONCE. JUST ONCE! And that time wasn’t really even that bad, I just wanted a little bit more color intensity for pictures. Other than that, I was free to forget about my lips for the rest of the night because I had no doubt it wouldn’t fail me! It was pretty magical. haha

Nyx Matte Lipsticks come in a cute, little black tube like you see above with a clear part so you can tell your colors apart. The thing I love most about this lipstick is that gorgeous matte finish it has. I love shine just like the next girl and the fun thing about this line is that, with the matte finish, you can build your lip gloss on top if you so please. But I didn’t use any gloss at the wedding and still got tons of compliments.

Final verdict? GOTTA HAVE IT! This isn’t even a “ehhh. it’s alright.” This is a 100%, head over heels in love, I completely, totally, and wholeheartedly NEED this product in my life! I have no idea how I survived without this being in my beauty routine before. haha Nyx Matte Lipsticks are available wherever Nyx products are sold and I picked mine up at Ulta for less than $5! I’ve only used it a few times, so maybe it’s too soon to claim this, but I’m pretty positive I’ve found my holy grail lipstick. Please, trust me on this, you NEED this in your life! Promise!

XOXO, Megan ❤

25 thoughts on “Gotta Have It or Live Without It: Nyx Matte Lipstick

  1. cheapandlazybeauty

    I nominated you for a Liebster award because I love your gotta have it series http://cheapandlazybeauty.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/liebster-award/

  2. Love the post! Totally makes me want to go out and get one now! Which shade would you recommend?

    • You defiantly should try them out sometime! I, personally, have only tried two of the shades (but I’m crazy in love with both!) and they have a pretty wide range of colors to choose from, so you’re sure to find your favorite and perfect shade. Just keep in mind that these lipsticks are super pigmented, so whatcha see in the tube is the real color! They’re gorgeous. Let me know if you end up tryin’ them out!

  3. Adding it to my wish list 🙂 I love Nyx products

  4. Fab review pretty 🙂 I’ve never tried nyx, but for me living in the UK its only available online! Might have to track these down & try them 🙂 xox

    • One of my friends lives in Australia and it’s so funny because she has that same problem! When she comes to visit, she’s so excited to get drugstore products here haha But if you ever run into any of these Nyx Matte Lipsticks, you definatly wanna try them!

      • I bet she does, If I go abroad & find any makeup I can’t get here I’d probably end up buying the lot! haha.. I will make sure I do, thank you xox

  5. I NEED these now! Great review I always end up impressed when it comes to NYX.

    • Oh my gosh, I’m the same way! I always buy Nyx products never expecting to really enjoy them, but I always do! You definatly need to try out these matte lipsticks, you’ll be in love!

      • I’ll have to get my hands on them. Have you tried any of their non-matte lipsticks because I haven’t tried those either? 🙂

      • I have! They’re pretty good, but my favorite lipstick line that I always recommend to everyone is the Maybelline Color Whispers. Have you ever tried their lipsticks? They’re kind of like pigmented lip balm, but lipsticks… it’s hard to explain hahah But if you’re looking for some new lipsticks, that’s what I recommend!

      • I heard of them but never tried them since I had the idea they were really sheer because the word “whisper” was there. Silly but true 🙂

      • hahaha No, I totally understand! Some of the colors are pretty sheer, but most of them have some gorgeous color to them. (:

      • I think they might be like the L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm lipsticks which are some of my favorites whenever my lips are dry but I also want to wear some color on them. 🙂

  6. I have one of these-indie flick which is just so crazy and bright! I need to give it a wear soon 🙂

  7. Loved the detailed review. One quick question..Are they drying or need a lip balm coz they are matte?
    Greetings from:-
    http://naturelbellefemme.blogspot.com

    • Thank you so much! After I took this lipstick off that night, I did notice there was just a liiiitle bit of dryness. Not very much at all, but I just put on some lip balm overnight and it was all good in the morning (:

  8. nyx lipsticks have a good quality, totally affordable.

  9. Thanks for the review on these, I’ve been wanting to try them but I was hesitant. Now I’m definitely getting them!

Leave a Reply

