Common Summer Beauty Blunders: SOLVED!

Happy Friday, everyone! I hope ya’ll had a great week and have some fun plans for the weekend coming up! It’s graduation season, wedding season, and of course, summer is so close! I can’t wait. Sometime next week I’ll be doing a post about summer makeup, but today, I’ve got a post all about some common summer beauty blunders. I, likely along with many of you, am an allergy sufferer. If you have allergies, you can sympathize with me. If not… count your blessings because it’s like having a 4 month long cold. haha So, some of these beauty problems revolve around that, but many more of them are just every day makeup fixes. The fun thing is, all of these actually have really simple answers to them! So perfect makeup is not too far away (: Check ’em out!

Under Eye Circles/Puffiness: If you have allergies, you may find this is a common problem for you. This is also a problem for those of you who have early jobs or don’t get enough sleep at night, and it can even be hereditary (thanks, mom!). You know how in movies when girls go to the spa, they place cucumbers over their under eyes? That’s because it actually works! Alright, putting cucumbers on your eyes: extremely impractical. But, before you go to bed at night, just pop two spoons in the freezer, take them out in the morning, hold them on your under eyes until they’re room temp, and the puffiness will be gone! If this isn’t enough for ya, just go to your local drugstore and buy and under eye roller (one of these long tube thingys with the metal ball on the end… real technical description, I know). The cool metal combined with the rolling will help get rid of any puffiness!

Running Eye Makeup: If you haven’t had this problem in the summer, I envy you! But it’s such an easy fix. All ya gotta do is take a concealer brush and run a dab of concealer right under where your eyeliner is. This will keep any dripping, fading, smudging, or smearing at bay. Using waterproof eye makeup during the warmer months is a must-have too. This tip works great for days spent outside in the humidity or outdoor weddings!

Makeup Caking Up: This used to be a major problem for me. What I did to fix it, though, is after I’m dong applying my foundation, I take a clean tissue (paper towel will work too), and blot it over my face, concentrating on the areas that cake up the most: between eye brows, around nose, around lips, etc. You’ll be so surprised at all the excess makeup you just mopped up! It really is that simple to fix (:

PMS Breakouts: Okay, ya’ll, this is a biiiig one for me. Ya know those freaking annoying zits that always, always, always pop up around that time of the month? Whether it be little ones or those huge monster colonies, you can somewhat prevent them. I say “somewhat” here because this mostly just has to do with hormones, but keeping up a good face cleaning regimen around that time will help significantly. One major thing you can do for this problem is extra exfoliating. This will help clear away the dead skin cells and dirt. But make sure you use extra moisturizer too! Find a good spot treatment and just ride it out. For me, birth control pills also helped, so if it’s a major problem for ya, be sure to talk to your dermatologist about all your options available.

Tired, Red Eyes: Less is more when it comes to this problem, so DON’T cake on the concealer and foundation. It will just be painfully obvious then. Apply your face and eye makeup like normal, and then put on a skin tone colored eye shadow (powder works best). This will take away any redness in your lid. After that, put on a tan colored or white eyeliner in your waterline. This will counteract with the redness in your eye and make your eye look bigger and more wide awake! Added bonus: if this is a daily, reoccurring problem for you, go out and buy some Visine for red eyes. Put some drops in every morning and the redness will go away.

Lipstick On Teeth: The creamier the lipstick, the more likely that it will smudge everywhere. Just clean your hands, pucker up your lips, stick your finger in, and pull it out! F.Y.I, this looks ridiculous, so do this step at home or in a bathroom. hahah All the lipstick that was on the inner parts of your mouth is now on your finger! You won’t have to worry about it for the rest of the night!

Fading Lip Color: Lipstick and glosses will fade. Just like death and taxes, it’s a sure part of life. There’s, of course, things you can do to make it last longer, but what I always recommend to people is that they just stick with a lip stain instead. Lip stains are pretty self-explanatory: they stain your lips! While you may still have to reapply, it will make the color last so much longer. My stains typically get me through a whole work day, I just reapply if I’m going out at night. Lip stains are one of my must-haves, they’re just so hassle free!

Noticeable Pores/Wrinkles: Two things I wanna tell ya for this one. Always use a primer… use it like your life depends on it, girl! Primer is just gonna go in and fill out any pores or wrinkles you have. The next fix for this is even easier: just use less powder! Powder will exaggerate the size of these common problems, so be weary of using too much. Use your powder to set and then use it for touch ups throughout the day if need be, but that should be it. Don’t put on 11 layers on it every morning. Confession: I used to do that. I used to put on so much powder, I looked fuzzy. Yeah, not cute.

Flyaways: This happens to the best of us. From time to time, we all tend to get those little, baby hairs that stick out just along our hair line. Just take a new toothbrush, spray some hair spray on it, and smooth those flyaways out! They’ll stay down all day. Just remember what tooth brush you use for this. If anyone’s ever accidentally kept your mouth open while hairspraying (No? That’s just a Megan Thing?), you know it tastes atrocious!

Greasy Hair: I know nothing about hair, I’ll be the first to happily admit that. In fact, touching other people’s hair is a sure-fire way to get me throw up all over your face. Not really, but I do totally hate it. It sincerely grosses me out. But this fun fact, I do know! Aside from using dry shampoo (it’s heaven sent!), just make sure you only apply your conditioner at the ends of your hair, where the damage is. Not at your roots! Besides making it greasy, conditioner at the roots weighs your hair down. You don’t need that!

That’s it for my common summer beauty blunders! I hope ya’ll enjoyed this post and I really hope it helps some of you ladies out as the weather starts to get warmer! If you enjoyed it, don’t forget to like it and be sure to follow my blog for more fun posts like this (: Thanks for spending some time with me today and I’ll talk to ya later!

XOXO, Megan ❤

5 thoughts on “Common Summer Beauty Blunders: SOLVED!

  1. Girl this is such an awesome, well thought out and helpful post, I love it!!! ♥♡♥

  2. hey thanks for that spoon trick , my dark circles were pretty much controlled , but since my exams are near so i am nearly always studying and now they are pitch black and i am starting to look like a panda !!! :/

Leave a Reply

