DIY Tribal Print Shorts!

Image

Hey, everyone! I have a really exciting post for ya’ll today! It’s been a while since I’ve done a DIY project, so it was definitely time to bring that back! I’ve been working on this all afternoon and finally just finished it and couldn’t wait to show it to ya! I did some DIY shorts today (: Some people think it’s weird that others create their own clothes, but why wouldn’t you? I love wearing clothes I created, having someone compliment them, and then being able to say that I did it myself! Even if they suck, I usually wear them anyway. haha I hope you enjoy the shorts I made today!

Image

Alright, so here’s the thing: I don’t see the purpose in throwing out or donating jeans that still fit perfectly fine at the waist, they’re just too short length-wise. That’s what happened with these bad boys. I should have taken a picture for ya’ll because it was honestly hilarious… these were about 5 inches too short! The problem I always run into is that I have long legs, but a tiny waist. I’m usually a size 2 or 3, but I’m hardly ever able to find pants that have the length I want. First world problems to the max. The bright side to this annoying problem? When pants become to short, it’s time for some new cut offs!

Image

When I make my cut offs, I’m never precise with my cut because I always either fold the ends up or fray the ends out, so it covers up any unevenness anyway. Just make sure you try them on first, so you have a good idea of where you wanna cut them off at! You can always cut off more, but you can never put it back on, so be sure to keep that in mind. Typically, I don’t like cutting mine straight across, so I cut them diagonally upwards just like you see here in this picture. This diagonal cut looks really good on every body shape, so it’ll work on you too! Promise!

Image

I didn’t give you guys a play-by-play type thing because that woulda been far too boring, so I just got some before and afters for ya. This is the front of my cut offs after I finished decorating them. All I did was just draw on them with a black Sharpie! It really is that simple! Ya’ll can do absolutely any design or picture you can think of, but I’m really crazy about aztec and tribal prints, so that’s what I went with. And you can definitely draw all over your shorts, but let’s be real, I’m way too lazy for that. haha

Image

Here’s the back of my cut offs. I originally had just decorated one pocket, and it actually look pretty cute, but I figured I’d go ahead and do the other one as well, since the front wasn’t all the way done. I didn’t want it to look unfinished or anything.

Image

Image

Here’s what everything looks like on! Excuse the ass shot. haha I’m pretty pleased with what everything turned out like. I just did this on my blue jean cut offs, but I personally think this wouda looked a little bit better on white cut offs instead! Next time, right? I have another pair of jeans that I was working on as well, but I had to stop because I needed to run to Walmart to grab more supplies. I’ll have that DIY pair up later this week or next! I’m going to bleach and glue some studs onto that pair, so I’m eager to see how that’ll turn out! I really hope ya’ll enjoyed this post! Don’t forget to like it and follow my blog for more posts like this! As always, comment if you have any questions about this! I get my comments sent straight to my phone, so I reply ASAP (: Thanks for hanging out with me today and I’ll talk to ya tomorrow!

XOXO, Megan ❤

 

 

 

Image

6 thoughts on “DIY Tribal Print Shorts!

  1. This is a really cool tutorial. I might do it but I’m afraid I’m not as artistic and my tribal print will look awful! Lol.
    I have a fashion blog if you’d like to check it out: http://thegeekchickblog.com/
    Camila

    • hahaha I totally understand your fear! Before I started, I was like, “Okay, this is gonna look horrible.” It’s actually so easy to draw on shorts, you’d be surprised! Try it (: You’ll do great. And of course I’ll go check your blog out! ❤

  2. Nice tutorial, like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

